Keeping Chores Fair

Let’s face it! No one likes doing chores, am I right?

There is almost no enjoyable way to make these chores to happen. So you just have to suck it sometimes and get them done. In our household, we’re working on figuring out a way to make them fair. With Erin being only 2 years old, it’s not reasonable to think that she can participate in most chores, so Paul and I have to split up most chores among the two of us.

(If you do have children that are old enough to, letting them participate is great! It teaches them responsibility and how to do these chores when they have their own household. It’s just not an option for us right now.)


Chores We Won’t Do

There are certain chores that the two of us will not do for one reason or another. I’ll be the first one to admit that mine is cleaning the toilet. It makes me gag! And I’ve tried just about every trick in the book to keep that from happening.

Luckily, Paul will help me out with that chore. So I take one of his chores that he does not like doing.

That’s only fair, right?


Making a List

Who makes a huge list everyday of all the things they would like to accomplish only to fall short and maybe only accomplish one or two things from their list?

This girl.

And sadly all too often.

It’s really deterred me from my list making lately. And really frustrated me to be honest. I come from a long line of list makers. While there is something very satisfying about a list, there is also something very upsetting about not getting your list completed. So my recommendation is only put a few things on that list. And really, make them realistic for your sanity’s sake!


Splitting Those Chores Up

I’m sure everyone at one point in their life has heard the old adage that “Communication is the one of the most important parts of a relationship”. Well, splitting up chores is hard even with the best of communication. Why?

Because no one likes doing chores. (Yes, even I chuckled a bit at that one.)

Another thing I have learned though is that Paul cannot read my mind. If I want him to help me with something, he cannot possibly know I want his help unless I tell him and vice versa. In the past, this was something we struggled with because we expected one another to know how we wanted our household to be run. Since we grew up in very different kinds of households, this was not going to be the case on many things.

We’re still working on the perfect system (is there any perfect system, really?). But the best one so far seems to be the plan out the chores ahead of time.

Personally, I love utilizing my Erin Condren Life Planner for planning. It gives me plenty of space to get detailed of what I want to get done and on what days.

  • Check out an example of how I like to plan here: Click here

But there are plenty of other ways to plan chores out! Some other ideas include: a dry erase board, a chore wheel, etc.


You Deserve a Break

Yes, you read that right. Once you have completed a few chores, take a break. No one expects you to be a work horse. No one expects you to be a slave in your own home!

Now, I’m not saying you should completely fore-go your chores and let your home go to disaster. Not at all! Doing your chores is important to the upkeep of a nice home. It’s proven that keeping a nice home can actually save you money in the long run and prevent repairs.

Your toughest critic will be yourself. But remember to tell yourself that even you deserve a short break in-between those chores!


I hope these tips help you get the chores in your house hold handled a little better.

Have any tips and tricks for me? I’d love to hear them! Please leave me a comment down below let me know what works for you!

 

